Cohabitees
Judicial Separation
Changing surnames
Civil partnerships

Contact
Contact

Legal Stuff
Disclaimer
This is a UK based forum about divorce and related issues. Feel free to contribute. Your experiences or opinions may help others. The links on the left lead to basic information about most common divorce questions. The information opens in a separate window. You can use the search function to search the forum.
User: Log In Create A New Profile
Actions: New Topic Print View RSS
Search
History: Home UK Divorce Forum
Topic:
Any advice for Final Hearing (5 Posts)
Started By:
Date:
01 August, 2017 12:55PM
Any advice for Final Hearing
Jay13 - 01 August, 2017 12:55PM
Hi I have been following this website for a long time but this is the first time I have posted (I have now registered). I have been fighting divorce for 3 years, have been to FDR and my STBEX was obstinate, stubborn and unreasonable. Some advice please as I am going insane. My 2/3 day Final Hearing was cancelled day before due to 'no available judge' leaving me with an £8000 Barristers bill to pay for cancellation + additional costs for new date.. I now have another date in four months time. Brief details

I owned the FMH before I met my ex it was always in my name
He moved in we had a child and married
I have always worked.
My STBEX had an affair with somebody from his past for around 6 years at the time we split
My STBEX had debts of around £25K when I met him I paid them off via savings
Due to his excessive social life and drinking he racked up more debts
I had to take out loans, Credit Cards etc in my name to pay off the debts,
We purchased another property (abroad) and borrowed money from my parents (they remortgaged their house), together with a large deposit from the sale of a property I had which I rented out, repayments were made from joint account until we separated, I had to then take over payments and have done since