Cohabitees
Judicial Separation
Changing surnames
Civil partnerships

Contact
Contact

Legal Stuff
Disclaimer
This is a UK based forum about divorce and related issues. Feel free to contribute. Your experiences or opinions may help others. The links on the left lead to basic information about most common divorce questions. The information opens in a separate window. You can use the search function to search the forum.
User: Log In Create A New Profile
Actions: New Topic Print View RSS
Search
History: Home UK Divorce Forum
Topic:
Education (5 Posts)
Started By:
Date:
04 March, 2017 09:17AM
Education
paul789 - 04 March, 2017 09:17AM
I have been paying child maintenance for many years as my divorce settlement states I must pay until my son reaches the age of 18 or finishes full time secondry education.
My son is now 18 and at college. He did 1 year in sports science and then swapped to motor mechanics for his second year which he is still doing .
He has informed me he will be continuing this course next year ( 3rd year )
He works 21 hours a week in a shop for extra money and more in the school holiday's. I have no idea if he will go into the motor trade when he finishes colledge as he doesn't seem that interested
I am convinced my ex wife is keeping him at college just to receive my maintenance payments , he will be 19 next January so when do I cease paying her ? Is this course classed as secondry or further education? Minefield when trying to get an answer.
Many thanks
Re: Education
Bubblegum - 04 March, 2017 09:34AM
I don't know the wording of your order but can confirm that secondary education is compulsory education I.e. Up to GCSE (age 16). Further education is post 16. And higher education is degree level. Doesn't sound like you need to pay it any longer.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/03/2017 09:58AM by Bubblegum.
paul789 - 04 March, 2017 10:36AM