Cohabitees
Judicial Separation
Changing surnames
Civil partnerships

Contact
Contact

Legal Stuff
Disclaimer
This is a UK based forum about divorce and related issues. Feel free to contribute. Your experiences or opinions may help others. The links on the left lead to basic information about most common divorce questions. The information opens in a separate window. You can use the search function to search the forum.
User: Log In Create A New Profile
Actions: New Topic Print View RSS
Search
History: Home UK Divorce Forum
Topic:
Am I eligible to file in the UK? (2 Posts)
Started By:
Date:
25 October, 2009 01:11PM
Am I eligible to file in the UK?
Anonymous - 25 October, 2009 01:11PM
Hi everyone!

I am an American graduate student currently studying in London. I live in London with my husband. We've only been here about a month, and my graduate program ends late 2010. After just 1 1/2 of marriage, I would like a divorce. I am unhappy in my relationship, and our lives have drifted in two different directions. I find that I am confused about where I am going to have to apply for this divorce. My permanent address is in KY. But they only accept cases for people physically living in KY. As I am in London, I am not physically living in KY and am ineligible to file for divorce there. Am I eligible to file for divorce in the UK since this is my current physical residence?

I worry about the timing of my divorce because I don't have plans to return to the US for a long period of time after I graduate. My goal is to find a job working in a developing country, so time-wise, it is best for me to get the divorce over with now than it would be to draw it out later. I can't go through a divorce while living in a remote village in the 3rd world. I am quite confused and have no idea what to do at this point. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Re: Am I eligible to file in the UK?
davidterry - 26 October, 2009 09:17AM